Concurrent Enrollment

General Information

CCCUA welcomes all secondary schools in our service area (Sevier, Howard, Little River, and Pike counties) to participate in our Concurrent Enrollment Program (CEP). We currently have Memorandums of Understanding with the following schools: Ashdown, Delight, De Queen, Dierks, Foreman, Horatio, Kirby, Mineral Springs, Murfreesboro, and Nashville. A variety of courses are offered including the following. Please contact Kristin Bowden, ext. 1126, to inquire about other courses available for CEP credit.

Click on the course number/name below to view the course desciption.


All of these courses are fully transferrable within the state of Arkansas. Visit the ACTS Website for more information. Requirements to teach in the CEP are the same as any transfer course, a master’s degree with 18 hours in the field or closely related field.
Cossatot’s Concurrent Enrollment Program is one of the 53 schools in the nation that is accredited by the National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP). This is a rigorous process which requires the college to meet national standards in the areas of Curriculum, Faculty, Students, Assessment, and Program Evaluation. For more information please go to the NACEP website.
If a parent, student, faculty member, or school district personnel has any questions concerning Concurrent Enrollment, courses, or faculty, please contact Kristin Bowden, ext.1126.

Student Information

For student eligibility, it is best to contact your high school counselor. Generally students must meet the following guidelines:

  • Complete CCCUA Application
  • An official high school transcript showing a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale;
  • Placement test (ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PLAN or EXPLORE) scores which meet the established minimums;
  • Copy of Social Security Card or record of government issued ID number.
  • Student’s signature on Concurrent Enrollment form
  • High school counselor or principal’s signature on Concurrent Enrollment form
  • Parent or guardian’s signature on Concurrent Enrollment form;
  • Permission from the CCCUA Director of Student Services; and
  • Payment arrangements of all tuition and fees are made with the Business Office.

Students concurrently enrolled must maintain a 2.0 GPA in CCCUA classes. Failure to achieve a 2.0 GPA will result in the student being barred from enrollment in additional CCCUA classes until after graduation from high school.

Minimum Scores for Concurrent Enrollment

  Communications, Life Science, or Technology Classes Mathematics, Computer Science, or Physical Science classes All other courses i.e speech, health, etc.
  Reading English/Writing Reading Math Reading
ACT 19 19 19 19 19
ASSET 43 45 43 Intermediate Algegra 39 43
COMPASS 83 80 83 Pre-Algebra 44
Algebra 41
EXPLORE 14 14 14 15 14
PLAN 15 16 15 17 15

*NOTE: Some technology classes have special requirements for concurrent enrollment. The appropriate Division Chair or Dean will provide information for these courses.

Please note that PLAN and EXPLORE scores will apply only while the student is enrolled in high school.

UA Cossatot Textbook Program
Learn how our new textbook program can save you hundreds of dollars! learn more >

connect with us online

Like us on Facebook and follow us on
Twitter for the latest news and info.
©2016 Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas
183 College Drive  •  De Queen, AR 71832  •  phone: 870-584-4471  •  toll free: 800-844-4471
En Español  |   Accessibility  |   Policies  |   Consumer Information |   Open Checkbook |    Financial Info

designed, developed & marketed byFLEX360 - Little Rock, Arkansas Web Development Firm